A Visit to Barrel Warehouse Park

During my daily stroll, I happened across this open space in front of the Seagram distillery buildings. Designed by Janet Rosenberg & Studio, it's places like this that make me happy to be in the profession of landscape architecture.

As I stepped into the space, the street noise faded, the shade made it comfortable, and the water created a soft bubbling noise. It's this type of oasis in the city that is so important. They help us relax. They make us slow down. And they bring us back to nature.

I think I could try and explain the importance of landscape architecture until I'm blue in the face, but no one can really "get it" until they visited these spaces and felt it themselves.

Leave a Reply

