HTS Part 2/10: HOW-TO care about YOU

Friends! So this next How-To post is much different than the last one (and hopefully more interesting too). Instead of explaining how to do something, I’m going to give some advice (yikes). One thing that I frequently seem to neglect in my life is caring about myself. My personality is such that I often go out of my way to make sure other people are looked after first. This can be emotionally draining and it is always important to learn how to care about yourself too. Keep reading to learn more!

Don’t assume

Assuming is probably the easiest way to forget about taking care of yourself. By assuming, I mean fretting and worrying about something bad that might happen, when in reality, what you are thinking might happen is false. It’s not an easy thing to turn “off” your thoughts, but it is definitely a good practice to try and have a positive outlook about the future. That leaves more time to focus on today.

Skip the screen

Maybe it’s just me but screens are draining, and addicting. It’s easy to forget about life when you have a distraction, but it’s really important to have quiet time and recharge. Don’t let screens rob your free time! As well, a lot of the media out there isn’t very positive, or it sends out messages that make the average person feel inadequate, when really, the thought is unrealistic.

Time for YOU

I’ve eluded to this already but seriously, I’m not kidding! Don’t feel guilty if you need some time to yourself. I realize that’s not always an easy thing to do; but it’s worth it. 

Pep talk

This item is something I find helpful (and I’m hoping it doesn’t make me crazy). It seems to be beneficial to give myself a pep talk every now and then. I’m not sure why it helps but I do wonder if it stops me from taking myself too seriously. Relax! It helps in so many ways. 

Remember

Lastly, I want you to take away this important part. Remember to take care of yourself! And remember that you are a unique person who can’t be fit into someone else’s mould. As I often say, it would be boring if we were all the same. 

Thanks for taking the time to read this! Again, taking the time to care for yourself (mentally) is as important as caring for yourself physically. Don’t forget it and don’t feel guilty about it!  

Leave a Reply

